Eesti  | English  
University of Aveiro

University of Aveiro (UA), Universidade de Aveiro, is one of largest universities in Portugal. The Department of Electronics, Telecommunications and Informatics (DETI) of this University was founded in 1974. DETI is one of the biggest and best departments in the scope of electrical and computer engineering in Portugal. There are 2 research institutes at the department: Institute of Electronics and Telematics Engineering of Aveiro - IEETA ( and Institute of Telecommunications - IT ( The staff includes 83 Ph.D. (12 full professors). The partner of the CREDES project is the Embedded Systems, Computing and Control (ESCC) laboratory of IEETA, led by Prof. Valeri Skliarov. The laboratory was created in 2009 by joining two laboratories: Computational Systems and Electronics. The laboratory is currently composed of 2 professors, 8 researchers with Ph.D. and a number of Ph.D. students. Members of the laboratory produced 17 books and more than 300 other publications in the scope of electronics and computers. Many papers have been published in top-level research journals (e.g. IEEE Trans. on VLSI Design, IEEE Trans. on Computers, IEEE Trans. on Education, Journal of Systems Architecture) and presented at top-level international conferences (e.g. DATE, FPL, VLSI Design, FCCM). The main research activities of the laboratory include reconfigurable computing and reconfigurable digital systems, embedded systems, application-specific architectures and algorithms. It is currently involved in two European Networks (Artist Design - Network of Excellence on Embedded Systems Design and HiPEAC - European Network of Excellence on High Performance and Embedded Architecture and Compilation). Members of the laboratory participate in CAMBADA ( - RoboCup middle-size league soccer team, which became World Champion in 2008) and lead the project "Use of HP Mobile Technology to Enhance Teaching Reconfigurable Systems", which received grant award from Hewlett-Packard in 2009 ( A number of national projects have also been granted.